Church of St Mary, Harrington

St Mary, Harrington The church of St Mary was almost completely rebuilt in 1854-5, of Somersby sandstone and Ancaster stone. With public subscription and at his own expense, the Reverend Robert Wentworth Cracroft commissioned S S Teulon, the architect, to replace the former church at a cost of £1,000. There is an effigy of a recumbent knight near the pulpit. The font dates from the 15th-century and this, together with an ancient poppy-headed bench in the chancel, also date from an earlier building. There are monuments to the Copeldikes/Amcotts (the last Copeldike being of 1658.) and a brass of c1480. The original tower arch supports 3 bells and a ting tang (a small ceiling bell) dated 1814. The Parish register dates from 1697. The church seats about 200. In just over 100 years the population of Harrington has dwindled from 123 to about 40.
St Mary, Harrington The church of St Mary was almost completely rebuilt in 1854-5, of Somersby sandstone and Ancaster stone. With public subscription and at his own expense, the Reverend Robert Wentworth Cracroft commissioned S S Teulon, the architect, to replace the former church at a cost of £1,000. There is an effigy of a recumbent knight near the pulpit. The font dates from the 15th-century and this, together with an ancient poppy-headed bench in the chancel, also date from an earlier building. There are monuments to the Copeldikes/Amcotts (the last Copeldike being of 1658.) and a brass of c1480. The original tower arch supports 3 bells and a ting tang (a small ceiling bell) dated 1814. The Parish register dates from 1697. The church seats about 200. In just over 100 years the population of Harrington has dwindled from 123 to about 40. Author: Dave Hitchborne, License: CC BY-SA 2.0 · Source

Discussion

No posts or comments for this place yet.