Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary

St Mary's church. St Mary's church > 1431114 is situated on an elevation above the small village of Redenhall. Its magnificent 15th century tower, which took 60 years to build, can be seen for miles > 1431112. Like the equally grand north porch its west facade is covered entirely with flushwork > 1431143. The chancel dates from the 14th century but the church was extensively restored in the second half of the 19th century and the reredos are from this time. The rood screen > 1431153 was re-assembled in 1920 and the panels are over-restored. The tomb of Sir Thomas Gawdy lies between the chancel and the Gawdy chapel > 1431182 at the east end of the north aisle. The heraldic glass in the chapel window > 1431183 comes from the demolished Gawdy Hall as does a 15th century Venetian chest > 1431187 made from cypress wood and with rare paintings inside. The large organ > 1431195 at the west end was built by G.M. Holdich in 1843 - it is the biggest organ he ever built and it has not been altered. The font > 1431201 is a 19th century copy of an older one. St Mary's church is kept locked.
St Mary's church. St Mary's church > 1431114 is situated on an elevation above the small village of Redenhall. Its magnificent 15th century tower, which took 60 years to build, can be seen for miles > 1431112. Like the equally grand north porch its west facade is covered entirely with flushwork > 1431143. The chancel dates from the 14th century but the church was extensively restored in the second half of the 19th century and the reredos are from this time. The rood screen > 1431153 was re-assembled in 1920 and the panels are over-restored. The tomb of Sir Thomas Gawdy lies between the chancel and the Gawdy chapel > 1431182 at the east end of the north aisle. The heraldic glass in the chapel window > 1431183 comes from the demolished Gawdy Hall as does a 15th century Venetian chest > 1431187 made from cypress wood and with rare paintings inside. The large organ > 1431195 at the west end was built by G.M. Holdich in 1843 - it is the biggest organ he ever built and it has not been altered. The font > 1431201 is a 19th century copy of an older one. St Mary's church is kept locked. Author: Evelyn Simak, License: CC BY-SA 2.0 · Source

Discussion

No posts or comments for this place yet.