Cross and well at Condicote 65m south west of St Nicholas's Church

Cross, Condicote An attractive village in the centre of an area rich in history and historical remains. "On the western side of the green is a spring marked by a cross of which the base—three steps and a socket—survive from the late 14th century. A new shaft and finial-cross were added in 1864. The finial-cross was later destroyed and was replaced in 1888 by one from the western gable-end of the church. The reputation of the spring as a holy well is thought to be a possible cause for the location of Condicote Camp. Certainly the spring made possible the settlement of the village, whose chief supply it was until the mid-20th century. Beneath the base of the cross, perhaps contemporary with it, was a cistern or dip-well, which by 1868 was fitted with a pair of doors. The supply was evidently then in some danger of contamination, and before 1926 the cistern was sealed off and a pump took its place. From before 1700 until about the mid19th century the spring filled a pond on the south side of the green. By 1882 the pond also was replaced by a pump, and a pump still marked the site in 1960. A main water supply, however, was brought to the village in 1937." From: 'Parishes: Condicote', A History of the County of Gloucester: volume 6 (1965), pp. 63-72.
Cross, Condicote An attractive village in the centre of an area rich in history and historical remains. "On the western side of the green is a spring marked by a cross of which the base—three steps and a socket—survive from the late 14th century. A new shaft and finial-cross were added in 1864. The finial-cross was later destroyed and was replaced in 1888 by one from the western gable-end of the church. The reputation of the spring as a holy well is thought to be a possible cause for the location of Condicote Camp. Certainly the spring made possible the settlement of the village, whose chief supply it was until the mid-20th century. Beneath the base of the cross, perhaps contemporary with it, was a cistern or dip-well, which by 1868 was fitted with a pair of doors. The supply was evidently then in some danger of contamination, and before 1926 the cistern was sealed off and a pump took its place. From before 1700 until about the mid19th century the spring filled a pond on the south side of the green. By 1882 the pond also was replaced by a pump, and a pump still marked the site in 1960. A main water supply, however, was brought to the village in 1937." From: 'Parishes: Condicote', A History of the County of Gloucester: volume 6 (1965), pp. 63-72. Author: Michael Dibb, License: CC BY-SA 2.0 · Source

Discussion

No posts or comments for this place yet.